Commencement Mass and Investiture

" On Tuesday 10th February, the College community gathered in the Gym for the Commencement Mass and Investiture of College Prefects.

The principal celebrant for the Eucharist was College Chaplain, Father Joe O’Riordan. He was assisted by Father Casey, Parish Priest of Opunake, Fr Frank Twiss, Parish Priest of Waitara and Fr Kevin Mears from Waitara, Father Kevin Neale, Parish Priest of Stratford and Father Simon Story from New Plymouth.

We were also pleased to welcome to our celebration Mr Hans Konlechner, deputy principal of Sacred Heart Girls’ College, Mrs Denise Hall, Manager of Elizabeth House and Sacred Heart Prefects, together with the parents and families of our Leaders.

During our Liturgy, we had the Commissioning of our Leaders’ and the induction and blessing of Grant Maclean, Chip McCabe, James Rowland, Abraham Schumacher, Jeremy Clark, Chris Wicky and Jonathon McCormack as Eucharistic Ministers for 2004.


We are privileged to be named as the student leadership team of Francis Douglas Memorial College for 2004. We will strive with God’s help, and the help of the College community, to lead by example through service and with truth, to serve this community by unselfishly giving our time and energy to ensure that all members of our College experience a place where they feel safe, where they are respected. We pray that Christ’s example will help us in performing our role. Through faith and love, we will do what we can, when we can, to lead the College. Amen.

The following Year 13 students have been chosen as College Leaders for 2003:

Head Boy:
Grant Maclean

Deputy Head Boy:
Riley McGregor

Head Boarder:
Shaun Poole

Deputy Head Boarder:
Phillip Walsh

Cultural Captain:
Chip McCabe

Cultural Vice-Captain:
Daniel Burkett

Benildus Captain:
Scott Fuglistaller

Benildus Vice-Captain:
James Rowland

La Salle Captain:
Jacob Smith

La Salle Vice-Captain:
Abraham Schumacher

Loreto Captain:
Ben Jagersma

Loreto Vice-Captain:
James Slaats

Solomon Captain:
Jeremy Clark

Solomon Vice-Captain:
Evan McGarvey

Kade Bernet

Jonathan McCormack
Chris Wicky

BOT Representative:
Shaun Smart